20 February 2023

For the attention of His Excellency António Guterres United Nations Secretary General United Nations Headquarters E 46th St & 1st Ave New York 10017 United States of America

Joint open letter on seafarers still trapped in Ukraine

Re: Shipping industry call for help to evacuate the 300+ seafarers still trapped in Ukraine ports

Your Excellency Secretary-General Guterres,

As we approach one year since the start of the war in Ukraine, the co-signatories of this letter write to you to highlight the 331 seafarers still trapped on vessels in the Black Sea and Sea of Azov. We call on the United Nations, and on your diplomatic influence, to address this matter urgently and evacuate all remaining seafarers and ships.

Our seafarers are the heart of our industry and cannot be forgotten. For 12 months now they have been caught up in a crisis far beyond their control. Simply doing their jobs cannot come at the expense of their lives.

We recognise and celebrate the United Nations, and your leadership, for the Black Sea Grain Initiative that the UN successfully brokered with Türkiye between Ukraine and Russia. This has allowed safe passage of critical grain and fertiliser shipments from Ukraine to populations most in need, and curbed food prices from spiralling out of control. We are committed to supporting the continued success of the Black Sea Grain Initiative, however this cannot come at the expense of innocent seafarers' lives. Action must be taken now.

Without our seafarers, movement of the vital grain shipments out of Ukrainian ports would not have been possible. While there are challenges to evacuating seafarers and their ships, it must nonetheless be a top priority. Otherwise, we risk the lives of our seafarers, and this is unacceptable.

Yours faithfully,

Please kindly see below the full list of signatories to the letter.

Bahamas Shipowners Association

Mr. John Adams, Chairman



BIMCO Mr. David Loosley, Secretary General & CEO



Cyprus Shipping Chamber Mr. Thomas A. Kazakos, Director General



CONFIRTAMA – ITALIAN SHIPOWNERS'

Mr. Mario Mattioli, President of Italian

ASSOCIATION

CONFITARMA Italian Shipowners' Association CYPRUS SHIPPING CHAMBER Navigates Cyprus Worldwide

Daiichi Chuo Kisen Kaisha

Mr. Masaharu Kurosawa, Representative Director, President Executive Officer,



Danish Shipping Anne H. Steffensen, Director General and CEO



European Community Shipowners' Association (ECSA) Mr. Sotiris Raptis, Secretary General



FONASBA Mr. Jonathan C. Williams FICS, General Manager



IINO KAIUN KAISHA, LTD. (IINO LINES)

Mr. Hiromi Tosha, President and



INTERCARGO Dr. Kostas G. Gkonis, CEO



InterManager

Capt. Kuba Szymanski, Secretary General



International Chamber of Shipping Mr. Emanuele Grimaldi, Chairman

Â

International Chamber of Shipping

International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA)

Mr. Jason Zuidema, General Secretary



International Federation of Shipmasters' Associations (IFSMA) Mr. Jim Scorer, Secretary General



International Maritime Employers' Council Ltd. (IMEC)

Mr. Francesco Gargiulo, Chief Executive Officer



International Maritime Health Association (IMHA) Dr. Robert Verbist, President



International Parcel Tankers Association (IPTA)

Mr. Mike Beviss, General Manager



International Union of Marine Insurance (IUMI) Mr. Lars Lange – Secretary General



INTERTANKO Dr Phillip Belcher, Marine Director



Japanese Shipowners' Association Mr. Junichiro Ikeda, President



Kawasaki Kisen Kaisha, Ltd. ("K" LINE)

Mr. Yukikazu Myochin, Representative Director, President and Chief Executive Officer



Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. Mr. Takeshi Hashimoto, Representative Director, President, Chief Executive Officer



Nippon Yusen Kabushiki Kaisha (NYK Line) Mr. Hitoshi Nagasawa, President, Representative Director, President and Chief Executive Officer



Sailors' Society Ms. Sara Baade, CEO



Seafarers Hospital Society

Ms. Sandra Welch, CEO



Synergy Denmark A/S Mr. Tommy Thomassen (COO)



Stella Maris Mr. Martin Foley, Chief Executive Officer



The Mission to Seafarers Mr. Andrew Wright, Secretary General



Caring for seafarers around the world

The Seafarers' Charity Ms. Deborah Layde, Chief Executive

the seafarers' charity **UK Chamber of Shipping** Ms. Sarah Treseder, CEO



UNION OF GREEK SHIPOWNERS Ms. Melina Travlos, President



Verband Deutscher Reeder (VDR) Dr. Gaby Bornheim, President Dr. Martin Kröger, CEO



CC: His Excellency Kitack Lim Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization 4 Albert Embankment London SE1 7SR United Kingdom

CC: His Excellency Gilbert F. Houngbo Director-General of the International Labour Organization 4 route des Morillons CH-1211 Genève 22 Switzerland

International Chamber of Shipping

7th Floor Walsingham House 35 Seething Lane London EC3N 4AH Tel: +44 (0)20 7090 1460